Sexual assault and Rape Seminar

Group Legal services is holding a seminar on sexual assault and rape. 

Here is the information:

GLS & HEHS
Monday, April 10th
145A Student Union
6:30 pm – 8:30 pm
consult with Panel of Professionals including (but not limited to)
-Assistant District Attorney
-Defense Attorney
-University Police
-ARTP
-Crisis Services

Free Food and Beverages Provided.

If I lived nearby, I would attend; unfortunately, I am a distance learner and live far away! I would be very interested in hearing back from a few who choose to attend to see what they have to say regarding the topic. 

I remember when I was an RA in Fargo – I was required to take a seminar similar to this to learn the signs of abuse from such things as Date Rape. i didn’t see signs in others but it did question one of my encounters I had – “did that constitute as date rape?” Till this day I am not sure it falls under the same category, partly because I like to think that I had some control over what was happening and wasn’t weak.  But the more I thought about it the more I think like what Morgan stated – I was coerced into it.  I tend to block it from my mind – I am no longer with that guy and obviously with another whom I married, but I am adamant about teaching both my daughter and my son NO MEANS NO – end of story! And most importantly – don’t get yourself into a situation you are not ready for by going past a point where you feel there is no going back. No matter what the other participant says – there is still time to withdraw and change your mind – you may be considered a “tease” or a “bitch”.  But I only wish I went that route instead of the one I felt I had to take. (It’s been 17 years and I still regret what happened – but does that mean it was rape?)

Posted in Uncategorized. Comments Off on Sexual assault and Rape Seminar
