Memorial Day -what a weekend!

The weekend coming up is a very important weekend for my family.  It is fitting that my son was born Memorial Day weekend.  You cannot find another family that bleeds red, white and blue, like ours does.  Our cars are red, our house is blue and our flag flew proud way before the tragedy of 9-11 and continues to do so everyday after.

This weekend we will celebrate like we do every year.  Our local beach will be hosting the Blue Angels, so we will catch that and then have a cake for our son's birthday – I still have to iron out the details.

The following day, my daughter will be twirling in a parade.  She is in the parade corps and will march in two parades, one local and one out of town.  Unfortunately, we have to forego planting flags at our local cemetary.  This has been a tradition for many years with us.  But my son's birthday is important and my in-laws are taking a trip to Italy leaving the only day to celebrate Saturday.  I think this may be one of the reasons my husband is not all that thrilled about settling arrangements for the air show.  He may opt to do the flags and pay homage to our unsung heroes instead of gazing at the skies in amazement. Perhaps we can manage to do both.  We shall see.

3 Responses to “Memorial Day -what a weekend!”

  1. Morgan of the Lake Says:

    It sounds like you’re going to have a fun and fulfilling Memorial Day. I hope you have a great time.

  2. #7 I THINK Says:

    Who are all these people and how do they know where to find you. You kill me.

  3. way2much Says:

    thanks Morgan –
    we just got back from the beach and now I am preparing for my son’s birthday
    Enjoy your weekend as well!


Leave a Reply

