High School Football Player dies of heatstroke and my son thinks I am overcautious!

My son has voluntary football practice today.

6:00 – 8:00

He has asthma.

“The heat index is going to get up to 106 degrees, there is a heat alert for NY state athletics, I do not think it is safe to play in these conditions.” A quote from my daughter’s lacrosse coach backing up his reasons for canceling her game this evening.

My son thinks I am over-reacting when I told him I don’t want him to go to practice this evening.

My husband thinks the coach will call and cancel – he hasn’t yet (3:49 PM). I am executing my parental obligations and being the adult in this situation I am refusing to take him to practice.

A boy a bit older than he died of heat exhaustion just the other day during “voluntary” football practice in Georgia.  They call it voluntary so that the school or the athletic department is not held accountable – but you are forced to attend if you want to be considered for the team in the fall. My son assures me he will know if he is taking it too hard and knows how to pace himself. 

I don’t think so!

I don’t know about you – but I don’t think it’s worth taking that chance.

11 Responses to “High School Football Player dies of heatstroke and my son thinks I am overcautious!”

  1. Elaine Says:

    “…EXCESSIVE HEAT WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 6 PM EDT THURSDAY… …AIR STAGNATION ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 1 AM EDT THURSDAY… AN EXCESSIVE HEAT WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 6 PM EDT THURSDAY. AN AIR STAGNATION ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 1 AM EDT THURSDAY. DANGEROUSLY HOT AND HUMID CONDITIONS WILL CONTINUE THROUGH LATE THURSDAY. HIGH TEMPERATURES THURSDAY WILL BE EXTREMELY HOT…CLIMBING TO INTO THE MID AND UPPER 90S ONCE AGAIN. WITH HUMIDITY REMAINING AT OPPRESSIVE LEVELS…THIS WILL RESULT IN MAXIMUM HEAT INDICES OF 105 TO 110 DEGREES BETWEEN NOON AND 600 PM. A COLD FRONT WILL CROSS THROUGH THE REGION THURSDAY NIGHT…WITH TEMPERATURE AND HUMIDITY LEVELS LOWERING FOR FRIDAY…AND ESPECIALLY SATURDAY. IN ADDITION TO THE DANGEROUS HEAT…AIR QUALITY LEVELS IN OUTDOOR AIR ARE PREDICTED TO BE GREATER THAN AN AIR QUALITY INDEX VALUE OF 100 FOR THE POLLUTANT OF OZONE. THE AIR QUALITY INDEX…OR AQI…WAS CREATED AS AN EASY WAY TO CORRELATE LEVELS OF DIFFERENT POLLUTANTS TO ONE SCALE. THE HIGHER THE AQI VALUE…THE GREATER THE HEALTH CONCERN”

    I called my pediatrician, she said my son should be fine, bring plenty of water, gatorade, his inhaler and take frequent breaks. I am trusting the coach to know better. I am trusting my son to do what is best for him and not try to look “macho” in front of his peers.

  2. Dan Says:

    The District Attorney for the county that that happened in called into a local radio show this morning and said that he sent a letter to the school system letting them know of the potential civil and criminal consequences related to this sort of thing. He also brought up the point of starting football practice so early and the season being over by october. When I played football in highschool (in Virginia) we didn’t start until school started in late August and our season didn’t end until it was nice and cool in November and that’s how I think it oughta be.

  3. Elaine Says:

    Dan,
    I absolutely agree.
    It is getting ridiculous.
    My son was watching ESPN or some channel like that and they were saying the Jets were still practicing – regardless of the heat index. That is professional ball and they are getting paid – not that it should matter.
    But for local high school sports? What does it prove?
    My son said 1/2 the team was missing – those were the smart kids and parents. A friend drove my son and the father said “football is football”. The only reason why I let him go was because I spoke to the doctor and I also went outside and it didn’t feel too bad once the sun started setting.
    The schools know they are doing the wrong thing by holding summer practices (but they cover themselves by calling it “voluntary summer conditioning!” – come mid August there will be an early morning practice and an evening practice – all 10 being mandatory! I can sort of see the two weeks before school holding a practice to get started for the season. But you are correct, I love football in November! Having the season over by October is ridiculous.
    My town gets so caught up with things that families schedule vacations and such around the game and practice schedules and camps! What happened to good ole family time? Our values are getting screwy!

  4. Another College Football Practice Death-College Football Forum-GoTeamsGo Sports Fan Forum Says:

    […] Re: Another College Football Practice Death One high school football player’s mother was going to execute her parental obligations and keeping her athsmatic son our of practice when the heat index hit 106. She finally let him go but is that the right approach? Do parents need to be the ones stepping in when they think the coach or the kid isn’t making the rigth decision? __________________ Ross ‘rmjvol’ GoTeamsGo Admin Click here > > > Welcome to GoTeamsGo! < < < […]

  5. Pigskin Player Says:

    I had to pop in and post a comment . Your post caught my eye So i figured I would post a message to you and say nice work on a decent blog. Keep up the good work.

  6. Anthony Says:

    Why is your son 14 and still going to a pediatrician? I think it is time he goes to the big boys doctor.

  7. Elaine Says:

    Dan loves his doctor!
    He is thrilled he can still see her up until he is 21 🙂

  8. ASTHMA Says:

    A good blog you got there! I’ll bookmark and come back later.

    Keep up the good work!

    Eddy

  9. asthma anxiety panic attacks Says:

    Hi there,

    I have read your blog and you have a very good post and blog. I certainly agree with your blog articles or should I say issue you are discussing. In fact, you should add more articles with regards to your subject more often so that I can come visiting to your blog.

    How often do you find new and research stuff? Are there any opportunities that I can contribute to your blog. I believe other blog readers would love to read more related stuff. This way, your PR rank for this blog will raise if more visitors are coming.

    Keep up the good work!

  10. Bradenton air conditioning contractor Says:

    Personally, I havee ben looking for simular information as I am writing a sals page for our employees to assist them with having th knowledge they need

  11. Pharme744 Says:

    Hello! gbdeada interesting gbdeada site! I’m really like it! Very, very gbdeada good!


Leave a Reply

